Date: 10th August 2010 at 1:34pm
Written by:

Crawley Town have spent big with Steve Evans back in business.

Crawley are the Conference ‘cash well` club if the close season has anything to go by. Having waved away HMRC`s winding up petitions at the High Court in London, it has been spend spend spend with charismatic Steve Evans back in business.

Co owner Bruce Winfield stated that all of the clubs debts had been cleared at a press conference on 1st July 2010 and that manager Steve Evans has been tasked to assemble a squad that will attain football League status this year.

So far Winfield and friends/business acquaintances have been good on their word funding the purchases of Sergio Torres from Peterborough – £100,000; Matt Tubbs from Salisbury – £75,000; and Chris Flood from Salisbury – £10,000. Their have also been 7 further signings – Dean Howell, Pablo Mills (Rotherham), Michel Kuipers, Danny Hall, Steve Masterton, Craig McAllister (Exeter) and Jamie Cook from Oxford.

Even Crawley Borough Council are convinced and fully behind the venture agreeing to lease The Broadfield Stadium back to the club.

So its all systems go as for our opening day opponents then.

Crawley Town.

Official site

Full name Crawley Town Football Club
Nickname(s) Red Devils
Founded 1896
Ground Broadfield Stadium Crawley (Capacity: 4,996 (1,150 seated)
Highest gate 2118
Ave Gate 927
Chairman Victor Marley
Manager Steve Evans
2009-10 Conference National, 7th

Michels Kuipers (1) Nick Jordan (12)

Sam Rents (3) Steven Masterton (11) Darragh Ryan (15) Glenn Wilson (16) Pablo Mills (22) Dean Howell TBA

Simon Rusk (2) Ed Hutchinson (4) Adam Quinn (5) Danny Hall (6) Ben Smith (7) Sergio Raul Torres (8) Barry Cogan (17) Chris Flood (20) Byron Napper (21) Dean Howell (23)

Matt Tubbs (9) Liam Enver-Marum (10) Craig Mcallister (14) Jamie Cook (18) Michael Malcolm (19)

Dean Howell – unattached
Sergio Torres Peterborough – £100,000
Matt Tubbs Salisbury – £75,000
Chris Flood Salisbury – £10,000
Pablo Mills Rotherham – Free
Michel Kuipers unattached
Danny Hall unattached
Steve Masterton – Greenock Morton – Free
Craig McAllister – Exeter – Free
Jamie Cook – Oxford – Free

Danny Forrest – Barrow Free
Charlie Ademeno – Grimsby Fee TBA