Date: 13th August 2010 at 1:42pm
Written by:

If at first you dont succeed score score again.

Martin Foyle, a focused fellow will, not bat an eyelid at the takeover goings on at Port Vale, his former haunt, nor the Minstermen`s misery in the playoff final defeat. Rather the York gaffer will look to continue the home form that saw just two defeats from 28 in all competitions last term. Foyle, a fiery forward in his day, will not let them rest on their laurels either.

In reality things couldn`t me more buoyant up there, now that Wednesday`s supposed move for goal machine Brodie has proved to be false. Season ticket sales are at record levels and nearing the 1,000 milestone despite the Minstermen starting their seventh successive season in the BSP, following relegation from the Football League.

Foyle did well with fifth in his first season and has looked to strengthen with some wise moves. Wingers Peter Till from Walsall and David McDermott from Kidderminster to supply the bullets for Brodie – the BSP`s leading marksman last year. Midfielder Jonathan Smith has also signed from Forest Green Rovers for a small fee and with Richard Pacquette`s departure to Eastbourne Borough, George Purcell has been enlisted from Braintree for another undisclosed fee.

David Knight comes in from Histon to vie for the number one spot with Martin Ingham and defender Duane Courtney, also from Kidderminster and Greg Young ex Altrincham will sure up the back. Martin was left smarting as Haworth and Bolland did about turns opting for moves to league clubs Bury and Macclesfield respectively.

York City

Official site

Full name York City Football Club
Nickname(s) The Minstermen, Yorkies
Founded 1922
Ground Bootham Crescent York (Capacity: 9,196)
Highest Gate 6204
Ave Gate 2477
Chairman Jason McGill
Manager Martin Foyle
2009-10 Conference National, 5th

David Knight (1) Michael Ingham (24)

Duane Courtney (2) James Meredith (3) David Mcgurk (5)Daniel Parslow (6)Alex Lawless (7) Chris Carruthers (11) Djoumin Sangare (12) Greg Young (18) Dean Lisles (19) Andy Mcwilliams (20)

Jonathan Smith (4) George Purcell (10) Neil Barrett (14) Levi Mackin (17) Jamie Hopcutt (21)

Peter Till (8) Michael Gash (9) Michael Rankine (15) Richard Brodie (16) David Mcdermott (22)

David McDermott Kidderminster – Free
David Knight – Histon – season long loan
George Purcell Braintree – Undisclosed
Jonathan Smith Forest Green – Free
Duane Courtney – Kidderminster – Free
Greg Young – Altrincham -Free
Peter Till – Walsall – Free

Adam Smith – Mansfield Town – Free
Luke Graham – Kettering – Free
Richard Pacquette – Eastbourne Borough – Free
Kevin Gall – Wrexham – Free

Loans Out
Andy McWilliams – Stalybridge Celtic (Dec 2010)