Date: 12th August 2010 at 4:50pm
Written by:

Its been a long journey

At the beginning of the 1980`s Newport reached the quarter-finals of the European Cup Winners’ Cup, by the end of the decade they had left the league and gone out of business failing to fulfill their Conference fixtures.

Its been a long journey but promotion to the BSP last season, as Champions of the Conference South, puts those dreamers of February 1989 on the verge of fulfilling their aim to return to the land of the 92. Well 72 nowadays.

Newport certainly have the catchments area and enjoyed an average gate of 1807 last term as they stormed to the title with 103 goals and 28 points to spare. Dean Holdsworth has kept the faith adding just three. Glyn Garner arrives from Shrewsbury, Robbie Matthews from Kidderminster and Odhiambo on a Bosman.

Newport County

Official site

Full name Newport County
Association Football Club
Nickname(s) The Exiles, The Ironsides
Founded 1912 (reformed 1989)
Ground Newport Stadium, Newport NP19 4PT (Capacity: 4,700 (1,100 seated)
Highest Gate 4221
Ave Gate 1807
Chairman Wales Chris Blight
Manager England Dean Holdsworth
2009-10 Conference South, 1st (promoted)

Keiron Blackburn , Glyn Thompson

Chris Todd Wales Oliver Thorne, Lee Baker, Gary Warren, Dan Harrison, Paul Bignot, Nick Skelton, Gary Colbourne, Matt Smith, Paul Cochlin

Eddie Odhiambo, Tony Taggart,Ben Evans, Jamie Collins,Scott Armitage, Ricky Manship, Scott Rogers, Kris Leek , Daniel Rose, Wayne Turk, Sam Foley, Josh Hartrick, Charlie Henry

Giuseppe Sole, Robbie Matthews, Manuel Rui Branguina, Craig Reid Tom Lyons

Glyn Garner – Shrewsbury – Free
Robbie Matthews – Kidderminster – Free
Odhiambo – unattached